Chris Grayling MP Recognises The Value Of Logistics At FTA Logistics Awards 2018.

14 December, 18
FTA Award winners

During a presentation at the second annual FTA Logistics Awards, Transport Secretary Chris Grayling MP recognised the flexibility and resilience of the logistics sector in the face of challenging economic times and ongoing political uncertainty. He praised the invaluable contribution of the industry to the UK economy.

The FTA Logistics Awards 2018 celebrated excellence within the supply chain leadership and recognised the leaders who have made a significant contribution to the industry, either as individuals or as businesses. The annual awards celebrate companies which play a vital role in delivering the raw materials and goods which Britain needs to succeed.

Held last night (13 December) at The Royal Lancaster Hotel, the FTA Logistic Awards 2018 were hosted by the renowned Irish comedian and television presenter, Dara Ó Briain, and supported by Multimodal.

FTA Chief Executive, David Wells , said the event showcased the very best of British industrial delivery and innovation: “The Logistics Awards celebrate success, achievement, and innovation across this industry – it’s great to see such a diverse range of companies brought together by FTA. The Awards dinner lived up to expectations to be the event of the year; a chance to celebrate the dedication and hard work of an industry determined to keep Britain trading. I would like to take this moment to congratulate all winners and runners up: they are a credit to the industry. The logistics sector often goes unrecognised and yet its work forms the backbone of British industry. It’s great to have a night like this to acknowledge the hard work of dedication of an often-invisible sector”

The full list of winners is as follows:

Van Operator of the Year sponsored by FTA Recovery

Royal Mail

Air Freight Operator of the Year presented by Multimodal 2019

Antonov Airlines

Sea Freight Operator of the Year sponsored by Maritime Transport

GPS Marine Contractors Ltd

Road Freight Operator of the Year sponsored by Port of Dover

Miniclipper Logistics

Retail Shipper of the Year sponsored by Tevva Electric Commercial Vehicles

Houseology Design Group Ltd



Manufacturing Shipper of the Year sponsored by Brigade Electronics

Yusen Logistics & Hoover Candy

Logistics Partner of the Year 2018 sponsored by Sovereign Transport Services

Uniserve Group

Logistics Champion of the Year for Essential or Public Service sponsored by FTA Fuel Card

Flogas Britain

Most Innovative Company of the Year sponsored by Apollo Vredestein UK Ltd

Reflex Vehicle Hire

Most Innovative Product of the Year sponsored by American Express


Logistics Champion of the Year for Diversity sponsored by Santander Corporate and Commercial

Transport for London (TfL)

FTA Lifetime Achievement of the Year

Stewart Oades

In attendance were more than 400 representatives from all modes of freight transport, including air, sea and road, as well as the industry’s buyers and support sectors. The prestigious awards celebrate the companies and individuals who have made a significant contribution to the logistics and supply industry through their dedication, innovation, and diligence during the past 12 months.

Efficient logistics is vital to keep Britain trading, directly having an impact on more than seven million people employed in the making, selling and moving of goods. With Brexit, new technology and other disruptive forces driving change in the way goods move across borders and through the supply chain, logistics has never been more important to UK plc.  A champion and challenger, FTA speaks to Government with one voice on behalf of the whole sector, with members from the road, rail, sea and air industries, as well as the buyers of freight services such as retailers and manufacturers.

Related posts


Latest posts